Mooring types

Moorings are used to secure a vessel in a particular location. Find out about the different mooring types, their uses and buoy colours.

Private moorings

  • Buoy colour: usually yellow
  • Licence type: private mooring licence, renewable annually
  • This licence is not a lease of the seabed and there is no guarantee of tenure. A private mooring licence allows you to moor your vessel on navigable waters.

Learn more about private mooring licences.

Commercial and club moorings

  • Buoy colour: orange (or red for clubs)
  • Licence type: commercial mooring licence, renewable annually
  • This licence is only issued to a business entity trading to provide marine-type services to the boating public, or a registered club or association (usually a boating or sailing club).

Learn more about eligibility and applying for a commercial mooring licence.

Emergency moorings

  • Buoy colour: blue
  • Licence type: not applicable
  • Emergency moorings are used by Transport for NSW staff or police to store vessels in emergencies.

Courtesy moorings

Marked by a pink buoy, courtesy moorings are free for the boating public to use on a 24-hour basis. To find a courtesy mooring, see our Mooring Locator Map.

Share this page: