Traffic committees

Liaison occurs at a local level through several Roads and Maritime Services Local Government regional consultative committees established to promote joint aims, resource sharing and collective action.

Roads and Maritime Services is legislated as the organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in New South Wales under the Road Transport (Safety & Traffic Management) Act 1999.

In order to deal with the large number and range of traffic related matters effectively, Roads and Maritime has delegated certain aspects of the control of traffic on local roads to Councils.

Roads and Maritime has retained both the control of traffic on the State's classified road network and the control of traffic signals on all roads.

Our delegation to Councils limits the types of prescribed traffic control devices and traffic control facilities that Council can authorise and imposes certain conditions on Councils.

One of these conditions requires Councils to obtain the advice of Roads and Maritime Services and the Police prior to proceeding with any proposal. This is most commonly achieved by Councils establishing a Local Traffic Committee.

The committee is composed of four formal members each with one vote. These four members are a representative from Council, the Police, and Roads and Maritime Services and the Local State Member of Parliament or their nominee.

The Local Traffic Committee is an advisory body only, having no decision making powers. It is, primarily, a technical review committee that is required to advise the Council on traffic related matters referred to it by Council.

Share this page: